

A .Frank Donaghue
Chief Executive Officer

Ciliei Executive Officei

Leonard S. Rubenstein, JD
President

**BOARD OF DIRECTORS** 

Robert S. Lawrence, MD

Frank Davidoff, MD

Vice Chair

Holly G. Atkinson, MD Immediate Past Chair

Donald Berwick, MD, MPP

Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Greg C. Carr

Carr Foundation

Felton Earls, MD

Harvard Medical School

Carola Eisenberg, MD Harvard Medical School

H. Jack Geiger, MD, MSci City University of New York Medical School

Justice Richard J. Goldstone

Justice of the South African Constitutional Court, Retired

Ali Mohammed Khan

Medical College of Virginia

Joel Lamstein

President, John Snow, Inc. (JSI) President, World Education, Inc.

Jennifer Leaning, MD, MPH

Harvard School of Public Health

Burton J. Lee, MD

Indian River County, FL Commissioner of Health

Allan G. Rosenfield, MD Mailman School of Public Health

... \_

Schooner Capital Corporation

Anne Stetson, JD, MIA

Lighthouse Consulting

Gerald E. Thomson, MD

Professor of Medicine Emeritus Columbia University

Ronald Waldman, MD, MPH

Columbia University



March 6, 2008

Attorney General Michael B. Mukasey U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530-0001

Dear Attorney General Mukasey,

As physicians and psychologists affiliated with the Physicians for Human Rights Asylum Network, we are writing to urge you certify for review the recent decision of the Board of Immigration Appeals in *Matter of A-T.* We are deeply concerned that, in failing to recognize past female genital cutting (FGC) as a basis for granting asylum, the BIA misunderstood and misrepresented the significant and lasting physical and mental harm suffered by women who are subjected to FGC. We are alarmed that the decision will result in future persecution and substantial, continuing harm among the many refugee women who have been subjected to this practice.

Members of the PHR Asylum Network provide *pro bono* evaluations of asylum seekers in the United States, contributing expert evidence of physical or psychological abuse suffered abroad to asylum proceedings. Prior to the decision in A-T, as we understand it, the BIA and the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals recognized FGC as an appropriate basis for granting asylum because, in view of its lasting physical and mental health consequences, it constitutes a permanent and continuing form of persecution. In our opinion as health professionals, this earlier characterization, rejected by the BIA in A-T, accurately reflects the harmful impact of FGC on the long-term health of girls and women.

As has long been known in the medical world, and has been documented in several cases decided by the BIA and the federal courts, FGC causes permanent disfigurement and can lead to a range of long-term, significant, and even life-threatening physical complications. These include dysmenorrhea (painful periods), dyspareunia (painful sexual intercourse) and tearing of vaginal tissue during sexual relations, chronic vaginal and bladder infections, urinary incontinence and other voiding difficulties, fibrosis, keloids, sebaceous cysts, vulvar abscesses, and infertility. Women subjected to FGC can face a significantly higher risk of serious and even life-

threatening complications during labor and delivery, including a higher risk of infant resuscitation, or even death of the mother or baby due to obstructed labor. FGC also has been linked to psychological harm, including post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety, depression, and suicidal thoughts and actions.

Fundamentally, the procedure is a gender-based form of persecution that deprives women and girls of their sexual and reproductive autonomy in cultures where women endure a wider range of restrictions and indignities and where the resources needed to adequately address the health consequences of FGC are rarely, if ever, made available. Because the BIA did not fully or accurately account for these long-term and continuing harms to the health of girls and women subjected to FGC, we urge you to certify the decision in *A-T* for review as expeditiously as possible.

Robert S. Lawrence, MD
Chair of the Board of Directors.

Vincent Iacopino, MD, PhD Senior Medical Advisor,

Physicians for Human Rights

Physicians for Human Rights

Randi Abramson, MD

Felix Aguilar, MD, MPH

Joanne Ahola, MD

Roberta Apfel, MD, MPH

Deborah Ascheim, MD

Joan Bachrach, LICSW

Laurel Baldwin, MD

Iverson Bell, Jr., MD

Joseph Berman, MD

John Bishop, PhD

Amy Blair, MD

Donald Bloch, MD

Adam Brenner, MD

Kathy Brock, PhD

M. Linda Brown, MD, MPH

Anuradha Chaddah, MD, JD

Kathryn Chen, MD

Amy Chi, MD

Patricia Chu. MD

Robert Cohen, MD

Sheila Davis, NP

Carola Eisenberg, MD

Katherine Falk. MD

Jeanette Farrell, MD

Hope Ferdowsian, MD, MPH

Serena Fox. MD

Julia Frank, MD

Michael Friedman, MD

Peter Gager, PhD Marc Lavietes, MD

Leena Gandhi, MD, PhD Cavin Leeman, MD

Frances Geteles, PhD Felicia Lewis, MD

Jeffrey Goldbarg, MD Isabeall Logan, PhD

Laurie Goldstein, MD Michele Lorand, MD

Marlene Goodfriend, MD Stuart Lustig, MD, MPH

Andrea Goodman, LCSW Wendy Macias Konstantopoulos, MD

Arthur Grant, MD, PhD Tapan Maniar, MD

Naomi Granvold, MD Seth Manoach, MD

Brian Grobois, MD Robert Marlin, MD, PhD

Barbara Hamm, PhD Stephen McElroy, MD

Deborah Hecker, PhD Hermine Muskat, EdD

Guisela Hernandez, MD Jeffrey Nichols, MD

Jeremy Hess, MD, MPH Marylou Noble, MA, LPC

Madelyn Hicks, MD, MRCPsych Mohammed Nurhussein, MD

Reginald Hughes, MD Valerie Ozsu, MSN, CNM, NP

Ellen Isaacs, MD Michael Paasche-Orlow, MD, MA, MPH

Srikant Iyer, MD, MPH Jolie Pataki, MD

Thomas Jacobs, MD Munro Proctor, MD

Evan Kanter, MD, PhD E. Dianne Pulte, MD

Terry Kaplan, MD Mara Rabin, MD

Marcia Katz, MD Vidya Ramanathan, MD, MPH

Brandon Kohrt, MA Margaret Ratiner, PhD, MPA

Richard Kovar, MD Ricardo Restrepo, MD

Carolyn Kreinsen, MD Naomi Rosborough, MA, LPC, LMFT, LCDC

Herbert Rothenberg, MD, MACP

Maria Saino, MSW

James Sanders, MD, MPH

Karl Sanzenbacher, MD

John Schumann, MD

Cheryl Seaman, MD

Linda Simmons, PsyD

Bennett Simon, MD

David Stein, MD, MPH

Kate Sugarman, MD

Caroline Teal, MA, LMHC

Andrew Terranella, MD, MPH

Rebecca Tessler, CNM

Elizabeth Tillem, MD

Jennifer Tolleson, PhD

John Varallo, MD, MPH, FACOG

Constance Walker, MD

Elena Weinstein, MD

Ann Winters, MD

Ann Winton, PhD

Rosemonde (Zoe) Woel, MD

Nicholas Wright, MD, MPH

Michael Yogman, MD

Parvin Zawahir, MD